A Little Road Trip Never Hurt Nobody

04/21/2020

After being stuck at home for days on end, I decided It was time to get out of the house. I took an adventure with one of my closest friends, Jenna. Our final destination, with many interesting sights along the way, was the beautiful Cowley Fishing Lake Falls.

Exploring the Unexplored

As we arrived at this waterfall, Jenna and I noticed there were a few families with the same idea as us that day. We decided to trek where no traveler has gone before. By this I mean that we followed the waterfall's stream until the water got yucky. What did we do when we got to the yucky water? We swam in it. Yep, you may be thinking of how gross that would be, but we had fun doing it and that was all that really mattered.

After our lovely dip in the stream, Jenna and I decided we must explore further. We hiked to the top of the waterfall, walked through loads of moss, and almost sunk into mud to reach our greatest find, a washed up picinic table. Don't worry, we weren't too thrilled with the results either, but we made the most of it. After we "marked our territory" with sharpie on the table, we went for another swim and decided to head back. As Jenna and I made our way to the starting point, we stopped to dangle our feet over the top of the waterfall before our drive home. We were both satisfied with the outcome of the day, and it wouldn't have been without our repeated saying, "well, we've made it this far why not?"

Optimism is Key

Jenna and I's day at the Cowley Fishing Lake Falls really showed me how you can make the most of things, even in times like these. I do not think we would of had as much fun as we did if it wasn't for the optimisim both of us showed throughout the day. 

I won't lie, quarantine is probably one of the most boring things I have ever experienced, but it doesn't have to be. If you allow yourself to appreciate the smaller things happening around you, life becomes more exciting. 

I would one hundred percent recommend going on a little adventure of your own, obviously being smart about where you go and what you do. You don't have to sit at home in bed all day, trust me. Get out of the house and go explore the unexplored!

© 2020 Briana Winter. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started