New Feathery Friends

04/21/2020

About two weeks ago, my dad came home with the biggest surprise. He gave my younger sister and I each a pet goose to take care of during quarantine. Even though I'm the only one who actually takes care of them, I have still had a lot of fun with the process.

Winging it

The first thing my sister and I did when we got our new pet geese was name them. I named mine Pluto and she went with Dawn, like the dishsoap, for hers. Dawn and Pluto were only a few days only when we recieved them, and very naive. They did a lot of quacking, and I'm surprised they didn't grow double their size with all the food they ate.


Careful selection

Overall, My sister and I have had a lot of fun raising the geese even though I am the one taking care of them. I built a pin for them to stay in as they got bigger, and I even took them on a walk around the neighborhood. They have grown up so much in the weeks that we have had them, and are almost triple their size.

This experience has taught me a lot. I have learned how to care for something in a way that is both fun and emotional. These geese feel like children to me, which is weird I know, but raising them from only a few days old to now has really had an impact on how I think about other animals too. I was not one to really care for geese before this experience. All I have had to care for in the past is my pet fish Bubbles, and it is definitely a completely different experience. Though I am sad to set them free in the future, I am glad I was able to take away important lessons and great memories.

I would definetely encourage others to take on a challenge similar. It can be so impactful to who you are and how you think about animals.

© 2020 Briana Winter. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started